Alumni Associations

Please contact Alumni Relations Coordinator Dawn Swanson-Lemus for membership information at or by phone at 708-948-0323.
The Fenwick Bar Association (FBA) is a social and professional support network for all members of the Fenwick Community engaged in the legal profession. 

Annual Accipiter Award

The Accipiter Award was first presented in 1997 as a way to honor members of the Fenwick community who have distinguished themselves in the legal profession. “Accipiter” is a Latin word meaning “hawk.” The award was named in honor of Fr. Joseph Hren, O.P., longtime teacher of Latin at Fenwick High School. Fr. Hren often was known among students as The Hawk for his devotion to detail and accuracy and his love for Latin, the language of the Law.

List of 1 items.

  • 2021 Accipiter Award Winner - Hon. Joseph N. Casciato '67

    Joseph N. Casciato graduated on the Dean’s List from Loyola University and received his Juris Doctorate degree from DePaul University Law School. He had a 10-year legal career including Of Counsel at Rusin Maciorowski & Friedman, Lt.; Assistant Corporate Counsel, City of Chicago; Associate, William J. Harte, Ltd. He went on to have a 22-year judicial career including Circuit Court of Cook County Law Division, Law Jury and Motion Call D. He is a former adjunct Professor of Law at DePaul University College of Law was named Man of the Year by the Fraternal Order of Police. He is admitted to practice in Illinois and before the United States Supreme Court.

Past Accipiter Award Recipients

List of 7 items.

  • 2019 Accipiter Award Winner - Robert P. Cummins '51

    Robert P. Cummins graduated with distinction from Purdue University in 1958 after serving on active duty with the United States Marine Corps from 1952-1954. He received his Juris Doctorate degree from DePaul University Law School in 1962 where he served on the Law Review. He has pursued a civil and criminal trial practice and related counseling for over 50 years and has served as an arbitrator and mediator in complex commercial disputes. He is admitted to practice in Illinois, Colorado, and Maine and before the United States Supreme Court and numerous Federal Courts of Appeal and Federal District Courts.
    Read More
    2019 Accipiter Award Acceptance Speech
  • 2018 - John C. Sciaccotta '80 - Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa

    John C. Sciaccotta is a 1980 graduate and Co-Founder and Past President of the Fenwick Bar Association, which is currently celebrating its 30th year. John focuses his practice on business and commercial litigation, arbitration and business counseling matters, with a special emphasis on complex civil trial matters brought in federal and state courts throughout the United States. He is also an Arbitrator and Lawyer Neutral who adjudicates various claims and disputes in arbitration. John’s clients include public and privately held businesses from a variety of industries, lenders, employers, executives and individuals. John is active in, and currently holds and has held many leadership positions with, numerous professional, charitable and community organizations. He currently serves on the Chicago Bar Association’s Board of Managers and is a Co-Founder & Vice-Chair of the CBA’s Business Divorce and Complex Ownership Disputes Committee. John is a past Trustee and current Life Trustee of Fenwick HS.

    He resides in Barrington, IL with his spouse, Esther, and is the proud parent of 4 adult children, John, Jr., Michael, Anna & Joseph.
    2018 Accipiter Award Acceptance Speech
  • 2017 - Thomas S. Moore '64

    Tom Moore is a 1964 graduate who also taught English at Fenwick from 1969 to 1972 while attending Loyola Law School at night.  Tom clerked for Federal Judge Frank McGarr, spent four years in the Cook County Public Defender’s Office and then entered private practice.  Tom has tried over seventy juries to verdict and teaches trial practice at Loyola.  Tom served on the Chicago Zoning Board of Appeals and now specializes in zoning law at Anderson & Moore.

    Tom lives in Lincoln Park with his wife Kathy.  They have 3 children and 6 grandchildren.
  • 2016 - Hon. Thomas M. Durkin ’71 - United States District Judge

    Thomas M. Durkin became a U.S. District Judge for the Northern District of Illinois on January 14, 2013, having been nominated by President Barack Obama on May 21, 2012. Judge Durkin received a JD degree with honors from DePaul University College of Law in 1978 and a BS degree in accounting with honors from the University of Illinois in 1975.
    Read More
  • 2015 - Neil K. Quinn ‘47 - Equity Partner - Pretzel & Stouffer, Chartered

    Neil is, and always has been, a trial lawyer. He has been privileged to practice law since 1958, spending 50 years of his career with the same firm. He has experience in every aspect of civil trials, with an emphasis on defense. He has enthusiastically contributed his time and service to the bar and to his community throughout his career.
    Read More
  • 2014 - Antonio M. Romanucci

    Antonio Romanucci is a founding partner, principal and trial lawyer in the Chicago-based tort litigation law firm of Romanucci & Blandin, LLC, which has successfully recovered over $250 million dollars on behalf of victims. Antonio concentrates his practice in wrongful death and personal injury which includes police misconduct, aviation, and the representation of victims of sexual abuse. He has been named a Top 100 Super Lawyer for 10 straight years in Illinois, a Leading Lawyer since 2004, and has a perfect Martindale Hubble AV rating and an AVVO rating of 10/10 along with being named a “Best Lawyer” for 2013 by U.S. News and World Report. He has worked tirelessly in the community having served as president of the Midwest Brain Injury Clubhouse, Knapp Burn Foundation, Justinian Society of Lawyers and the Joint Civic Committee of Italian Americans. He serves on the Boards of the Illinois Trial Lawyers Association, American Association for Justice and America’s public interest law firm, Public Justice. He is past Chair of AAJ’s Motor Vehicle and Premises Litigation Group, Secretary of the Brain Injury Litigation Group and the founding Chair of the Police Misconduct Litigation Group. He is a frequent lecturer and moderator across the country on the topics of litigation and jury selection. Antonio has been involved in many cases that are newsworthy and changed policies and procedures across corporate America, such as the Maine West High School sexual abuse scandal, the Jenni Rivera plane crash outside of Monterrey, Mexico, the metal baseball bat litigation and numerous other police misconduct cases, product safety recalls and catastrophic injuries across the country.
    Read More
  • 2013 - Terrence M. Johnson ‘70

    Terry Johnson has been representing union men and women who have been catastrophically injured from exposure to asbestos since 1983. 
    Read More

Past Recipients

  • 2012 - Hon. John E. Morrissey ’60
  • 2011 - Charles W. Mulaney, Jr ’67
  • 2010 - Hon. Daniel J. Kelley ’71
  • 2009 - Thomas M. Mengler ’71
  • 2008 - Kevin P. Durkin ’73
  • 2007 - Gov. Patrick J. Quinn ’67
  • 2006 - William J. Martin ’54
  • 2005 - Timothy J. Rooney ’75
  • 2004 - Michael J. Hayes, Sr.
  • 2003 - Thomas H. Morsch ’49
  • 2002 - Robert J. Cooney, Jr. ’70
  • 2001 - John J. Gearen, Jr. ’61
  • 2000 - James P. Carey ’61
  • 1999 - Hon. James H. Alesia ’53*
  • 1998 - Hon. Louis B. Garippo ’48*
  • 1997 - Bernard M. Judge ’57
* Deceased
Please contact Alumni Relations Coordinator Dawn G. Swanson for membership information at or by phone at 708-948-0323.
©2023 Fenwick High School. All Rights Reserved.